Not too long ago, a news item came across my screen noting that Pedro Martinez, surefire future Hall of Famer that he is, has likely thrown his last pitch in the majors.

Martinez was the face of the Boston Red Sox for seven years, and, more importantly, was for a stretch one of the more amazing players to ever grace a diamond. It could be argued that he was the greatest pitcher who ever lived, and I wouldn’t be the one to argue against it.

No player (pitcher or otherwise) in my short life has been as exciting or brilliant in the moment. I have a lot of thoughts about the man and the player. So many, in fact, that I won’t attempt to jam into a single post.

So I hope you enjoy this ensuing project on Saves and Shutouts, “Pedro Week,” aimed to dissect and celebrate an incredible career. If we could, we’d duct-tape him to the dugout pole again ourselves.

